Air Force Public Affairs Alumni Assn.
Linking the present to the past and the future!
Find out about Online Newsletter Delivery HERE 

Download the most recent issue of >> "News & Notes"
For back issues go to >> Archives    Password Required
For recent news, see >> Updates below.
Newsletter Submissions
Submissions for the AFPAAA newsletter are welcome.
Members may e-mail: or send "snail mail" to:
Editor. AFPAAA Newsletter, 5412 Aylor Road, Fairfax, VA 22032-3805.

Updates ... click on headline for story

Pinup "America's Air Force: Always There"
To: Air Force Leaders:

We are entering into a Presidential transition year with a multitude of leadership changes across our government. Timely, credible, transparent and consistent engagement with Air Force stakeholders and partners is critical as we seek to ensure understanding and support of what we bring to the nation. Therefore, we developed a succinct 2017 Air Force narrative and associated "Quick Facts" for senior leader use by our Wing Commanders, Command Chiefs, and GOs/SESs.

Secretary Disbrow and General Goldfein expect every Air Force senior leader to embrace a culture of engagement. It's imperative that our messaging is harmonized across the spectrum of components, domains, and missions. The attached narrative -- stating what we do, who we are, and what we need -- will ensure you can align our overarching Air Force narrative with your localized messaging, and tailor your story to a range of audiences. The "Quick Facts" can be used to emphasize key missions outlined in the narrative.

On behalf of the Secretary and Chief, thanks for all you do to lead and take care of our Airmen ... and for carrying the torch with our Air Force message.

General, USAF
Vice Chief of Staff

Download: "America's Air Force - Always There"

Pinup PRSA Awards 2016 Best of Silver Anvil to USAF PA
NEW YORK, June 10, 2016 - After U.S. Air Force Airman 1st Class Spencer Stone and his two friends thwarted a terrorist attack while on a train in Europe, the United States Air Force Public Affairs Directorate rapidly and effectively executed a crisis communication program. Last evening the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) presented the Air Force with its Best of Silver Anvil for its impeccable communication strategy and execution while in the global spotlight.

The campaign was selected as the best of the campaigns designated as finalists for the prestigious Silver Anvil Award. The awards were presented June 9th at the PRSA 2016 Silver Anvil Awards Ceremony at the AXA Equitable Building in New York, where Brigadier General Kathleen A. Cook, Director of Air Force Public Affairs, accepted the award.

"When Airman 1st Class Stone and his friends Alek Skarlato and Anthony Sadler heroically led the charge to not only overtake a heavily armed terrorist, but also provide life-saving first aid to wounded passengers, people around the globe rightfully wanted to thank, recognize and commend them for their brave actions," said James J. Roop, APR, Fellow PRSA, chair of PRSA's Honors and Awards Committee. "The Air Force, through a strategic crisis communications campaign, capitalized on the opportunity to strengthen the Air Force's image with the public while simultaneously helping Stone balance his new fame with his personal recovery."

According to the Air Force's winning entry, following the incident the Air Force Public Affairs vetted more than 50 requests for Stone's first national interview. Through swift and comprehensive research, Public Affairs granted interviews to The New York Times for print and The Jimmy Kimmel Show on broadcast television. It was of utmost importance to the Air Force that all accounts were accurate and precise. To aid in Airman 1st Class Stone's recovery, the group arranged for Stone's family to accompany him in Europe.

From the outset of the campaign, Air Force Public Affairs focused on the following objectives:
    Taking care of Airman 1st Class Stone mentally and physically; Highlighting the exceptional training and core values of Airmen; Shaping media coverage to focus on the heroic actions of an American Airman; and Inspiring young people to consider Air Force service.
After the initial interviews, within six weeks of returning to the United States Stone participated in interviews with 31 television, print and internet outlets.

Feedback on Stone and the subsequent media appearances was overwhelmingly positive. According to a sentiment analysis conducted by Air Force Public Affairs, 92 percent of individuals following Stone's story via social media expressed a positive sentiment, contributing to a worldwide positive impression of the United States Air Force.

Overall analytics revealed publication of more than 18,000 articles in the United States and more than 6,600 articles published in more than 75 countries worldwide. Throughout the remainder of 2015 and into 2016, Public Affairs continued to vet countless civic and media engagements on Stone's behalf, culminating with his invitation and attendance of the President Barack Obama's 2016 State of the Union Address. Air Force Public Affairs continues to use the vast array of media and civic contacts garnered from the Stone incident to maximize reach and exposure of other high-level Air Force stories.

About the Public Relations Society of America
PRSA is the largest professional organization serving the U.S. public relations community. With a mission to "advance the profession and the professional," PRSA provides news and information, thought leadership, continuing education and networking opportunities; sets standards of professional excellence and ethical conduct; and advocates for the business value of public relations and greater diversity among public relations professionals. Based in New York, PRSA comprises 110 local Chapters; 14 Professional Interest Sections that focus on specific industries and practice areas; and the Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA), which is active at more than 340 colleges and universities.

Pinup Centurion Fund Aids Endowment
A few years ago the AFPAAA Board of Directors challenged a committee made up of C B Kelly and our late friends Charlie Powers and John Gulick to develop a way to promote more awareness of and add to the coffers of AFPAAA's Endowment Fund.

Thus, the Centurions were born.

To become a Centurion members simply donate $100 to the AFPAAA Endowment Fund. In return, at the next annual meeting, one Centurion donor's name will be drawn and he or she will receive a full refund of their annual meeting registration fee. (The refund can be applied to the current or next annual meeting.)

It is hoped that the public drawing and attendent publicity will attract further contributions. If even half of each meeting's attendees join the Centurions, the program would earn about $5000 per annual meeting, a substantial addition to the foundation.

For Annual Meeting reservation and registration details go to Annual Meeting

To make a Centurion donation: Send your check for $100.00 (payable to Endowment Fund) to: AFPAAA Centurions, Attn: Treasurer, P.O. Box 447, Locust Grove, VA 22508-0447. Be sure to clearly mark your check "Centurion"

Pinup Annual Meeting Site Selection - How to suggest a site
At the 2002 annual meeting, the membership approved a policy that - effective in 2005 - annual AFPAAA conference sites will be suggested and awarded on a bid basis. Any member interested in hosting an annual conference should download the Annual Conference Application Instructions and complete the Annual Conference Application form.

Instructions and an Application can be downloaded as PDF files HERE.

Any questions or concerns about the process should be sent to:
Annual Meeting Committee



Website by Enterprise Communications

© 1997-2016  AFPAAA. All Rights Reserved